Introductions

2021-03-21

Salut!

My name is Haché Goose, and I am a mess; hence, the name of this blog.

I debated making a blog for a while, because I have a lot of internalized self-loathing and tend to view anything I create as without value to anyone. I'm working on it.

I was ultimately inspired to make this blog by these posts by ramona, a creator whose work you should be following.

I guess I should tell you a bit about myself?

I was the child of two French Canadians but was raised English. At time of writing, I'm thirty-seven years old. I'm pansexual, nonbinary, and use they/them pronouns. Most of the time I pretend to be an IT professional (I'm barely an IT amateur) and get underpaid for that work. Occasionally, very occasionally, I make a digital thing that some might construe to be a video game. I've actually made more than what's hosted here; someday I'll release them.

I enjoy playing small works by independent creators, as well as old DOS/Windows 3.1 games and old handheld games. You'd be surprised what fun you can find in some underappreciated Game Boy Colour titles. I also have an unhealthy relationship with Destiny 2 that I hope to shake once the current season is over. The first game I can remember playing was Commander Keen. My favourite game of all time is Yoda Stories. My goal is to one day make a game that replicates its aesthetic and play style. I've gotten close once.

Who am I writing this for?

I don't know. Myself? An audience I might not have? Internet randos? Friends?

Look, I've been in a directionless rut for like eight years now. I've been trying a lot of different things to find the spark I used to have. This is one of those attempts.

I can't promise that I'll post regularly, but I will post again.